Eigth Grade Writing Assessment (EGWA)


The Eighth Grade Writing Assessment program was retired after the 2014 administration.  The Georgia Milestones Assessment System has replaced the EGWA beginning with the 2014-2015 school year.

The Eighth Grade Writing Assessment was previously administered each January. Students demonstrated writing ability by responding to an expository or persuasive writing topic. Student writing was assessed analytically on four domains: Ideas, Organization, Style, and Conventions. There were three performance levels represented: Below Target (100-199), On Target (200-249) and Exceeds Target (250+).



EGWA Related Content

EGWA - Summary

EGWA - Subgroups


Filtering Help

Filter Name

Filter Description

School Year

Choose school year(s) displayed.

School District

Choose school district(s) displayed.


Choose school(s) displayed.

Academic Level

Choose academic level displayed.

Grade Cluster

Choose grade cluster displayed.