End-of-Course Testing (EOCT)


The EOCT program was retired after the November 2014 Mid-Month administration.  The Georgia Milestones Assessment System has replaced the EOCT beginning with the 2014-2015 school year.

The A Plus Education Reform Act of 2000, O.C.G.A. ยง20-2-281, mandated that the State Board of Education adopt end-of-course assessments in grades nine through twelve for core subjects to be determined by the State Board of Education. The End-of-Course Testing (EOCT) program was comprised of eight content area assessments:


  • English Language Arts

  • Ninth Grade Literature and Composition

  • American Literature and Composition

  • Mathematics

  • Math I/Coordinate Algebra

  • Math II/Analytic Geometry

  • Science

  • Biology

  • Physical Science

  • Social Studies

  • United States History

  • Economics/Business/Free Enterprise


The EOCT was administered three times each school year in the fall, spring, and summer. Performance on the EOCT was described as a scale score and performance level as indicated below:


For GPS based assessments:


  • Scores below 400 - "Does Not Meet Expectations;"

  • Scores from 400 to 449 - "Meets Expectations;"

  • Scores at or above 450 - "Exceeds Expectations."



EOCT Related Content

EOCT - Summary

EOCT - Subgroups


Filtering Help

Filter Name

Filter Description

School Year

Choose school year(s) displayed.

School District

Choose school district(s) displayed.


Choose school(s) displayed.

Academic Level

Choose academic level displayed.

Grade Cluster

Choose grade cluster displayed.