Innovation in Teaching Competition

About the Innovation in Teaching Competition

The Innovation in Teaching Competition began under Georgia’s Race to the Top (RT3) plan as a way to recognize and reward Georgia educators who are using innovative strategies to advance student achievement.  To continue this work beyond RT3, Governor Deal appropriated Fiscal Year 2016 state funds to launch the 2015-2016 Innovation in Teaching Competition.

The competition has two main goals. First, to reward outstanding teachers who advance student achievement every day.  And second, to make videos of the winning teachers, along with their unit plans and supplementary materials, available to other teachers on  


Innovation in Teaching Competition Unit Plans and Videos

Need innovative ways to help your students master the Georgia Standards of Excellence (GSE)?  Check out the videos, unit plans, and supplementary materials of the Innovation in Teaching Competition winners.  These resources represent a variety of grade levels and innovative strategies, from project-based and applied learning to differentiated small group instruction and creative classroom management techniques. All of these resources are complete unit plans created by real teachers and are designed to help teachers implement the GSE in their classrooms.


2015-2016 Innovation in Teaching Competition Winners

On November 20, 2015, Gov. Deal announced this year's Innovation in Teaching Competition Winners:

Farhat Ahmad
Ninth-Tenth Grades, World, Multicultural and American Literature
McClarin Success Academy
Fulton County Schools

Courtney Bryant
Second Grade, Engineering
Charles R. Drew Charter School
Atlanta Public Schools

Danielle LeePow
Fifth Grade, Science
KIPP South Fulton Academy
Fulton County Schools

Stuart Ogburn
Fourth Grade, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies
Norton Park Elementary School
Cobb County School District

Tom White
Ninth-12th Grades, Audio Video Technology and Film
Rockdale Career Academy
Rockdale County Public Schools 

Click here to view Gov. Deal's press release.

Click here to view the previous Race to Top Innovation in Teaching Competition Winners.