Through Georgia's Race to the Top plan, GOSA awarded grants of up to $1.4 million grants to Columbus State University, Southern Polytechnic State University, and the University of West Georgia to replicate the UTeach program, a highly successful math and science teacher preparation program at the University of Texas at Austin.  These grants were awarded in July of 2011 and the competition was open to universities across Georgia.  

The UTeach program was established in 1997 at the University of Texas at Austin as a new and improved way to introduce undergraduate math and science majors to secondary school teaching. By offering compact degree plans, early teaching experiences, guidance by expert master teachers, and financial assistance for undergraduate students, UTeach provides a platform for raising the quantity and quality of mathematics, science, and computer science teachers in secondary schools.

UTeach certifies more than 80 students every year at the University of Texas at Austin. More than 90 percent of these UTeach graduates immediately go on to teach in their respective fields, and over 80 percent continue five years or more after starting, compared to only 60 percent nationally. Additionally, almost half of UTeach graduates teach in schools where more than 50 percent of students receive free or reduced price lunch.  The UTeach Institute, in partnership with the National Math and Science Initiative, was created to expand and replicate UTeach at universities across the United States. Georgia officials worked closely with the UTeach Institute throughout the grant competition to assist universities in developing strong proposals and to select the winners.

Links to Programs

UTeach Columbus


UTeach West Georgia

UTeach Institute (Austin, TX)

The contents of the reports on this website were developed under a grant from the U.S. Department of Education. However, those contents do not necessarily represent the policy of the U.S. Department of Education, and you should not assume endorsement by the Federal Government.